main content

Four universities

Foyer Chemie-Neubau der TU Dresden
»Spektralsymphonie der Elemente« (spectral symphony of elements) - that’s what artist Roland Fuhrmann calls his artistic work in the new building of the chemical institutes of the TU Dresden. Almost 1,500 borosilicate glass rods that have partially translucent mineral colour pigments are suspended from the ceiling of the atrium using stainless steel wire ropes of different lengths in eleven rows forming a coloured light space that is 30 metres long, 3.35 metres wide and 15 metres high.  © TU Dresden/Eckhold

There are four top-performing, traditional universities in the Free State of Saxony. The universities in Dresden, Leipzig, Chemnitz and Freiberg feature a wide range of subjects such as Engineering, Natural Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences, Economics and Law.

Knowledge creates diversity – this is the credo of the TU Dresden. The TU Dresden is one of the largest technical universities (30,100 students) and one of the leading and most dynamic universities in Germany. As a comprehensive university with 18 faculties in five disciplines, it offers a wide choice of 121 study programmes and covers a large research spectrum, which, in addition to the mathematical, technical and scientific fields, also includes all subject groups from the humanities, social sciences and cultural studies as well as medicine. As a result, the TU Dresden offers one of the widest range of subjects in Germany. Its specialities Biomedicine and Bioengineering, Materials Science, Computer Engineering and Microelectronics as well as Energy and Environment are considered exemplary across Germany and Europe.  Internationally, the TU Dresden has earned a good reputation; almost every eighth student is a foreign national. Today, about 11,300 employees from 70 countries work at the TU Dresden.

The TU Dresden has retained its title as University of Excellence this year. This makes the TU Dresden one of the eleven Universities of Excellence in Germany that will receive permanent funding starting 1st November 2019 as part of the excellence strategy of the federal government and the states.

Learn more about this here.

It is the centre of DRESDEN-concept

a science association founded in 2010, which comprises 28 partners from the fields of science and culture, including the extramural research institutions Max Planck Society and the Fraunhofer Society, the Leibniz Association and the Helmholtz Association as well as the researching cultural institutions in Dresden.

The TU Dresden is the only university of the nine leading technical universities to offer undergraduate diploma courses. The qualification Dipl.-Ing. is recognised worldwide as a quality certificate. Classic university diploma courses can be completed primarily in engineering and economics.

The main campus is located in the southern suburb of Dresden and is close to the city centre. The Johannstadt campus houses the faculties of life sciences and medicine. The Institute of Waste Management and Contaminated Site Treatment is located in Pirna Copitz and budding forest scientists study in Tharandt, which is located between the Eastern Ore Mountains and Saxon Switzerland.

The TU Dresden has been certified as a family-friendly university since 2007. As a result, studying with a child is easy here. Campus-Büro “Uni mit Kind” as a cooperation facility between the Studentenwerk (Student Services) and the TU Dresden supports student parents in different ways right from child care, courses and workshops to flexible short-term care.

TU Dresden

The Faculty of Medicine Carl Gustav Carus offers a wide range of subjects and academic diversity with its study programmes of Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health and Medical Radiation Science. Over 2,500 students are enrolled for these subjects in Dresden. International exchange is a prerequisite for outstanding education and cutting-edge research - the Hochschulmedizin Dresden puts this idea into practice since it has employees from 73 nations and numerous collaborations with researchers and teams from around the world. Innovative, patient-friendly education and the internationally visible cutting-edge research can only be realised by the faculty in close cooperation with the University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus. The excellent scientific environment in Dresden and the numerous international collaborations are the other essential factors for the positive development of university medicine in Dresden.

Pioneer since 1409 – More than 150 study programmes ranging from African Studies to Dentistry, 14 faculties with over 150 institutes, 30,000 students, including 3,500 from abroad – that’s the current strength of the Leipzig University, which was founded in 1409. Nobel laureates such as Werner Heisenberg, Gustav Hertz and Wilhelm Ostwald stand testimony to the great tradition of the university. Famous alumni include Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Richard Wagner and Chancellor Angela Merkel.

The place where the St. Pauli university church was blown up in 1968 now draws student life into the city centre with its extravagant architecture. The Paulinum (assembly hall and university church of St. Pauli), which was ceremoniously inaugurated on 1st December 2017, taps on the centuries-old university tradition of this location. The largest new building of the university since German reunification also houses numerous works of art that narrate the eventful history of the university and are reminiscent of great scholars and students from Leipzig such as Lessing, Leibniz and Goethe. The university’s largest lecture hall, Audimax, is located in the new Augusteum building. It can accommodate 800 students and has two booths for tele-interpretation, which can be directly connected to the Audimax.

Moreover, the recently renovated lecture hall building not far from the legendary Moritzbastei student club houses 21 lecture halls with a total of 2,600 seats as well as the campus library. Here, literature in economics, mathematics, informatics as well as communication and media studies is available round the clock, seven days a week. The time-honoured Bibliotheca Albertina on Beethovenstrasse is an even bigger knowledge store.

Diverse cooperation relationships with foreign partner universities and an internationally oriented range of courses make Leipzig an internationally attractive university city. The university is in contact with 477 university partners worldwide, of which 377 are Erasmus+ partners. Doctoral students in Leipzig work in an excellently networked environment. The Research Academy Leipzig, founded in 2006, brings together all structured doctoral programmes of the Leipzig University under one roof. Prospective post-docs carry out joint research beyond disciplinary boundaries.

The traditional variety of subjects is also the basis for top-class interdisciplinary research. Based on “The Leipzig Way” model, the diversity of research approaches at the Leipzig University is to be bundled in three research centres (integrative centres) by 2025. The pioneer of this strategy is the already established German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv). Cutting-edge research in Leipzig on the topics of obesity as a disease of civilisation (iOb) and the effects of globalisation processes and projects (iGlobe) are also to be organised as per this model. In numerous DFG collaborative research centres, research training groups and research units as well as large joint projects funded by the EU and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), new research topics are being developed that further enhance the profile of the Leipzig University with its three strategic research fields: Changed Order in a Globalised World, Intelligent Methods and Materials and Sustainable Principles for Life and Health.

Get a peek into the day-to-day life of students by visiting leipzig-studieren.de (homepage only in German) or via YouTube. Students from various disciplines – be it freshmen, students with children or students with a handicap – post regular updates about their daily university life here.

Leipzig University

Together, the Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (UKL) and the Faculty of Medicine form the second oldest university medical centre in Germany and look back on a rich tradition. Today, the hospital with 1,450 beds is equipped with one of the most modern structural and technical infrastructures in Europe. Every year, patients receive the highest quality medical treatment here. They benefit from the innovative research capacity of the researchers, who put the latest findings from medical research into practice quickly and securely.

With over 100 professors, the Faculty of Medicine (homepage only in German) is the largest of a total of 14 faculties. It is a training facility in Human Medicine and Dentistry for around 3,000 students. In addition, it is one of the largest research institutions in Saxony and focusses on almost all scientific fields of medicine. International level research is carried out here. It works closely with related faculties as well as with other research institutions – an ideal scenario for students, teachers and researchers alike.

Founded in 1836 as the Königliche Gewerbschule (Royal Vocational School), the Technische Universität Chemnitz is the third largest university in Saxony today. Currently 9,800 young men and women from more than 90 countries study at the TU Chemnitz. With around 2,300 employees in the Science, Technology and Administration departments, the TU Chemnitz is one of the most important employers in the region. In the area of research and teaching, it focusses on the three core competencies Materials and Intelligent Systems, Resource-efficient Production and Lightweight Construction and Humans and Technology, which deal with important questions of the future. The central subject of economic and social developments is value creation, whose primary influencing factors result from mega trends such as globalisation, demographic development and resource availability.

Some of the over 100 study programmes offered in Chemnitz are only available here. For example, the new Master’s study programme in Semiotics and Multimodal Communication was started in the winter semester 2018/19. It teaches approaches for analysing speech and gesture in everyday communication and language and image in print and audiovisual media, in Internet-based communication as well as in computer games and virtual reality applications. This represents a profile that is unique in Germany.

Ideal conditions for a leap from the lecture hall into independence are offered by the start-up network SAXEED (homepage only in German) at the TU and the Technologie Centrum Chemnitz, with whose help around 235 spin-offs with more than 1,000 jobs have been generated since 2002. This is another reason why the TU Chemnitz is considered one of the best entrepreneur universities in Germany.

Networking is given very high priority at the TU Chemnitz in the economic, scientific, cultural, sports and social environment. One example is the Smart Systems Campus, which was built in 2009 in the immediate vicinity of the university campus. It includes the new building of the Institute of Physics of the TU with a clean room of the Centre for Microtechnologies, the Fraunhofer Institute for Electronic Nano Systems ENAS, a start up building and commercial spaces. At the international level, the TU Chemnitz cooperates with 130 partner institutions from all continents.

TU Chemnitz

Four core areas – Geo, Material, Energy and Environment – lend the Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg its unique and inimitable profile that ranges from the exploration of new and domestic deposits, the development of alternative energy technologies and materials to recycling. The roots of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg date back to 1765. This makes the university more than 250 years old and thereby the oldest mining science university in the world.

Today, the Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg is an international university with a worldwide teaching and research network. People from all over the world come to study and teach here. As a University of Resources for research and teaching, it focusses, among other things, on how to use the earth’s finite resources responsibly. For this purpose, six faculties develop efficient and alternative technologies for raw material extraction, energy technology, materials and recycling processes and make a significant contribution to solving economic and ecological challenges.

With courses in Engineering, Natural Sciences, Earth Sciences, Materials Sciences and Economics, the university combines all areas of basic modern raw material research and application-oriented research. 4,000 students are currently enrolled for 66 study programmes. Eleven of the 35 Master’s study programmes are offered in English; in addition, the Bergakademie not only offers 14 study programmes that conclude with a diploma, but also unique study opportunities. For example, the study programme of Internet of Energy tackles current issues in sustainable energy management and combines them with the latest digitisation technologies. Close cooperation with companies gives students the advantage of being able to complete internships, papers and industry-sponsored doctorates. The Bergakademie combines theory and practice in its own research and teaching mines “Reiche Zeche” and “Alte Elisabeth”. Here the students usually get into the mines themselves and apply knowledge in a very practical and interdisciplinary manner.

Thanks to its intensive cooperation with regional and national industry as well as companies worldwide, the Bergakademie is one of the most research-intensive universities in Germany. The university also works closely with the Helmholtz Institute Freiberg for Resource Technology, which belongs to the renowned Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf. The university has held a top position for years when it comes to obtaining third-party funding.

TU Bergakademie Freiberg

Back to top

Hauptinhalt

Vier Universitäten

Foyer Chemie-Neubau der TU Dresden
»Spektralsymphonie der Elemente« nennt Künstler Roland Fuhrmann sein künstlerisches Werk im Neubau der Chemischen Institute an der Technischen Universität Dresden. Fast 1500 Borosilikatglasstäbe hängen an verschieden langen Edelstahldrahtseilen in elf Reihen von der Decke des Atriums herab und bilden – versehen mit partiell lichtdurchlässigen Mineralfarbpigmenten – einen Farblichtraum, der 30 Meter lang, 3,35 Meter breit und 15 Meter hoch ist.  © TU Dresden/Eckhold

Vier leistungsstarke und traditionsreiche Universitäten gibt es im Freistaat Sachsen. Die Universitäten in Dresden, Leipzig, Chemnitz und Freiberg zeichnen ein breites Fächerangebot von Ingenieur-, Natur-, Geistes-, Sozial-, Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaften aus.

»Wissen schafft Vielfalt« – so das Credo der TU Dresden. Die TU Dresden ist eine der größten Technischen Universitäten in Deutschland und eine der führenden und dynamischsten Hochschulen in Deutschland. Als Volluniversität mit 18 Fakultäten in fünf Bereichen offeriert sie ein weitgefächertes Angebot aus 121 Studiengängen und deckt ein großes Forschungs-Spektrum ab. Dazu gehören neben den mathematischen, technischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Bereichen auch sämtliche Fächergruppen aus den Geistes-, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften sowie der Medizin. Damit hat die TU Dresden eines der breitesten Fächerspektren in Deutschland. Ihre Schwerpunkte Biomedizin und Bioengineering, Materialwissenschaften, Informationstechnik und Mikroelektronik sowie Energie und Umwelt gelten bundes- und europaweit als vorbildlich.  International hat sich die TU Dresden einen guten Ruf erarbeitet, etwa jeder achte Studierende kommt aus dem Ausland. Heute sind hier etwa 11 300 Beschäftigte aus 70 Ländern tätig.

Die TU Dresden hat in diesem Jahr ihren Titel als Exzellenz-Universität verteidigt. Die TU Dresden gehört damit zum Kreis der elf deutschen Exzellenz-Universitäten, die ab 1. November 2019 eine dauerhafte Förderung im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder erhalten. Hier erfahren Sie mehr dazu.

Sie ist Zentrum des 2010 gegründeten Wissenschaftsverbundes »DRESDEN-concept« – einem Zusammenschluss von 28 Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Kultur, darunter die außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck- und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, der Leibniz- und Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft sowie die forschenden Kultureinrichtungen aus Dresden.

Als einzige der neun führenden Technischen Universitäten bietet die TU Dresden grundständige Diplomstudiengänge an. Der Dipl.-Ing. gilt weltweit als Qualitätsabschluss. Vorrangig in den Ingenieur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften können die klassischen, universitären Diplom-Studiengänge absolviert werden.

Der Hauptcampus befindet sich in der Dresdner Südvorstadt und liegt innenstadtnah. Die Lebenswissenschaften und die Medizin prägen den Campus Johannstadt. Das Institut für Abfallwirtschaft und Altlasten ist in Pirna-Copitz angesiedelt und die angehenden Forstwissenschaftler studieren zwischen Osterzgebirge und Sächsischer Schweiz in Tharandt.

Die TU Dresden ist seit 2007 als familiengerechte Hochschule zertifiziert, so dass Studieren mit Kind gut funktioniert. Das Campus-Büro »Uni mit Kind« als Kooperationseinrichtung von Studentenwerk und TU Dresden umsorgt studentische Eltern von der Kinderbetreuung über Kurse und Workshops bis hin zur flexiblen Kurzzeitbetreuung.

TU Dresden

Die Medizinische Fakultät Carl Gustav Carus  bietet mit den Studiengängen Medizin, Zahnmedizin, Public Health und Medical Radiation Sciences fachliche Breite und akademische Vielfalt. Über 2500 Studierende sind in diesen Fächern in Dresden eingeschrieben. Internationaler Austausch ist Voraussetzung für herausragende Lehre und Spitzenforschung – die Hochschulmedizin Dresden lebt diesen Gedanken mit Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern aus 73 Nationen sowie zahlreichen Kooperationen mit Wissenschaftlern und Teams in aller Welt. Ihre innovative, patientennahe Lehre und die international sichtbare Spitzenforschung kann die Fakultät nur durch die enge Kooperation mit dem Universitätsklinikum Carl Gustav Carus realisieren. Das hervorragende wissenschaftliche Umfeld in Dresden und die zahlreichen internationalen Kooperationen sind weitere wesentliche Faktoren für die positive Entwicklung der Dresdner Hochschulmedizin.

Wegbereiterin seit 1409 – Mehr als 150 Studiengänge von A wie Afrikanistik bis Z wie Zahnmedizin, 14 Fakultäten mit über 150 Instituten, 29 000 Studierende, davon 3500 aus dem Ausland – das ist die 1409 gegründete Universität Leipzig heute. Nobelpreisträger wie Werner Heisenberg, Gustav Hertz und Wilhelm Ostwald stehen für die große Tradition der Universität. Berühmte Alumni sind Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Richard Wagner und Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel.

Dort, wo 1968 die Universitätskirche St. Pauli gesprengt wurde, zieht jetzt extravagante Architektur das Studentenleben in die Innenstadt. Das am 1. Dezember 2017 feierlich eröffnete Paulinum (Aula – Universitätskirche St. Pauli) greift die jahrhundertealte Universitätstradition an diesem Ort auf. Der größte Universitätsneubau seit der deutschen Wiedervereinigung beherbergt auch zahlreiche Kunstgegenstände, die aus der wechselvollen Universitäts­geschichte erzählen und an große Gelehrte und Leipziger Studierende wie Lessing, Leibniz oder Goethe erinnern. Im Neuen Augusteum befindet sich der größte Hörsaal der Universität – 800 Studierende finden hier Platz – mit zwei Kabinen zum Teledolmetschen, die dem Audimax direkt zugeschaltet werden können.

Frisch saniert bietet auch das Hörsaalgebäude unweit des legendären Studentenclubs Moritzbastei nicht nur 21 Hörsälen mit insgesamt 2600 Sitzen, sondern auch der Campus-Bibliothek Platz. Literatur der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Mathematik, Informatik sowie der Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft steht hier sieben Tage die Woche rund um die Uhr bereit. Noch mehr Wissen offeriert die altehrwürdige Bibliotheca Albertina in der Beethovenstraße.

Vielfältige Kooperationsbeziehungen mit ausländischen Partnerhochschulen und ein international ausgerichtetes Studienangebot machen Leipzig zu einem weltweit attraktiven Hochschulstandort. Die Universität steht im Austausch mit 477 Hochschulpartnerschaften weltweit, davon sind 377 Erasmus+ Partner. Erstklassig vernetzt arbeiten Leipziger Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. In der 2006 gegründeten Research Academy Leipzig sind alle strukturierten Promotionsprogramme der Universität Leipzig zusammengeführt. Über Fächergrenzen hinweg forschen angehende Post-Docs gemeinsam.

Die traditionelle Vielfalt der Fächer ist auch Grundlage für interdisziplinäre Forschung auf Spitzenniveau. Nach dem Modell des Leipziger Wegs soll die Vielfalt der Forschungsansätze der Universität Leipzig bis 2025 in drei Forschungszentren (integrative centres) gebündelt werden. Vorreiter dieser Strategie ist das bereits etablierte Deutsche Zentrum für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv). Nach diesem Modell soll auch die Leipziger Spitzenforschung zu den Themen Fettleibigkeit als Zivilisationserkrankung (iOb) und Auswirkungen von Globalisierungsprozessen und -projekten (iGlobe) organisiert werden. In zahlreichen DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichen, Graduiertenkollegs und Forschergruppen sowie großen EU- und BMBF-geförderten Verbundprojekten entwickeln sich neue Forschungsthemen, die das Profil der Universität Leipzig mit ihren drei strategischen Forschungsfeldern Veränderte Ordnungen in einer globalisierten Welt, Intelligente Methoden und Materialien sowie Nachhaltige Grundlagen für Leben und Gesundheit weiter schärfen.

In den studentischen Alltag schnuppern, das geht auf der Seite leipzig-studieren.de  oder via YouTube ganz leicht. Studierende verschiedener Fachrichtungen berichten hier regelmäßig von ihrem Studienalltag – ob als Erstsemester, Studierende mit Kind oder als Studierender mit Handicap.

Universität Leipzig

Das Universitätsklinikum Leipzig (UKL) blickt gemeinsam mit der Medizinischen Fakultät als zweitälteste deutsche Universitätsmedizin auf eine reiche Tradition zurück. Heute verfügt das Klinikum mit 1450 Betten über eine der modernsten baulichen und technischen Infrastrukturen in Europa. Jährlich werden hier Patientinnen und Patienten auf höchstem medizinischen Niveau behandelt. Diese profitieren von der innovativen Forschungskraft der Wissenschaftler, indem hier neueste Erkenntnisse aus der Medizinforschung schnell und gesichert in die medizinische Praxis überführt werden.

Die Medizinische Fakultät  ist heute mit über 100 Professorinnen und Professoren die größte von insgesamt 14 Fakultäten. Sie ist Ausbildungsstätte für rund 3000 Studierende der Human- und Zahnmedizin. Darüber hinaus ist sie eine der größten Forschungseinrichtungen Sachsens und mit nahezu allen Wissenschaftsbereichen der Medizin befasst. An ihr wird auf internationalem Niveau geforscht. Enge Kooperationen bestehen sowohl zu benachbarten Fakultäten als auch zu anderen Forschungseinrichtungen – optimale Voraussetzungen gleichermaßen für Studierende, Lehrende und Wissenschaftler.

Im Jahr 1836 als »Königliche Gewerbschule« gegründet ist die Technische Universität Chemnitz heute die drittgrößte Hochschule in Sachsen. Aktuell studieren 10 400 junge Frauen und Männer aus mehr als 90 Ländern an der TU Chemnitz. Mit etwa 2300 Beschäftigten in Wissenschaft, Technik und Verwaltung ist die TU Chemnitz einer der wichtigsten Arbeitgeber in der Region. In Forschung und Lehre steht sie für die drei Kernkompetenzen  »Materialien und Intelligente Systeme«, »Ressourceneffiziente Produktion und Leichtbau« sowie »Mensch und Technik«, in denen wichtige Fragestellungen der Zukunft bearbeitet werden. Zentrales Thema wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen ist dabei die Wertschöpfung, deren Einflussfaktoren sich insbesondere durch Megatrends wie Globalisierung, demografische Entwicklung und Ressourcenverfügbarkeit ergeben.

Einige der in Chemnitz angebotenen über 100 Studiengänge gibt es nur hier. Im Wintersemester 2018/19 startete z. B. der neue Masterstudiengang Semiotik und Multimodale Kommunikation (SeMuKo). Dabei werden Zugänge zur Untersuchung von Rede und Geste in der Alltagskommunikation ebenso wie von Sprache und Bild in Print- und audiovisuellen Medien, in der internetbasierten Kommunikation bis hin zu Computerspielen und Virtual-Reality-Anwendungen vermittelt. Dies stellt ein deutschlandweit einzigartiges Profil dar.

Gute Voraussetzungen für den Sprung vom Hörsaal in die Selbstständigkeit bieten das Gründernetzwerk SAXEED  an der TU und das Technologie Centrum Chemnitz, mit deren Hilfe seit 2002 etwa 235 Ausgründungen mit mehr als 1000 Arbeitsplätzen generiert wurden. Auch deshalb gilt die TU Chemnitz als eine der besten Gründerhochschulen in Deutschland.

Vernetzung wird an der TU Chemnitz groß geschrieben - im wirtschaftlichen, wissenschaftlichen, kulturellen, sportlichen oder sozialen Umfeld. Ein Beispiel ist der Smart Systems Campus, der 2009 in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Universitätscampus entstand. Zu ihm gehören der Neubau des Instituts für Physik der TU mit einem Reinraum des Zentrums für Mikrotechnologien, das Fraunhofer-Institut für Elektronische Nanosysteme ENAS , ein  »Start up«-Gebäude sowie Gewerbeflächen. Auf internationaler Ebene kooperiert die Chemnitzer Universität mit 130 Partnereinrichtungen auf allen Kontinenten. Dazu zählt auch das internationale Universitätsnetzwerk »Academic Consortium for the 21st Century«  AC21

TU Chemnitz

Vier Kernfelder – Geo, Material, Energie und Umwelt – geben der Technischen Universität Bergakademie Freiberg ihr einmaliges und unverwechselbares Profil: von der Erkundung neuer sowie heimischer Lagerstätten über die Entwicklung alternativer Energietechniken und Werkstoffe bis hin zum Recycling. Bis ins Jahr 1765 reichen die Wurzeln der TU Bergakademie Freiberg zurück. Damit zählt die Universität bereits über 250 Jahre und ist die älteste montanwissenschaftliche Hochschule der Welt.

Heute ist die Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg eine internationale Hochschule mit einem weltweiten Lehr- und Forschungsnetzwerk. Hier studieren und lehren Menschen aus den verschiedensten Teilen der Erde. Sie richtet sich als Ressourcenuniversität bei Forschung und Lehre unter anderem daran aus, wie ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit den endlichen Ressourcen dieser Erde erreicht werden kann. Dafür entwickeln sechs Fakultäten effiziente und alternative Technologien für Rohstoffgewinnung, Energietechniken, Werkstoffe und Recyclingverfahren und tragen maßgeblich zur Lösung ökonomischer und ökologischer Herausforderungen bei.

Mit den Ingenieur-, Natur-, Geo-, Material- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften vereint die Hochschule alle Bereiche der modernen Rohstoffforschung im Grundlagenbereich und der anwendungsorientierten Forschung. Aktuell sind etwa 4000 Studierende in 66 Studiengängen eingeschrieben. Von den 35 Masterstudiengängen sind elf englischsprachig; zudem bietet die Bergakademie nicht nur 14 Studiengänge, die mit dem Diplom abschließen, sondern auch einzigartige Studienmöglichkeiten. So greift beispielsweise der Studiengang >Internet der Energie< aktuelle Themen der nachhaltigen Energiewirtschaft auf und verbindet diese mit den neuesten Digitalisierungstechnologien. Die enge Kooperation mit Unternehmen bringt den Studierenden den Vorteil, Praktika und Belegarbeiten bis hin zur Industriepromotion absolvieren zu können. Mit den eigenen Forschungs- und Lehrbergwerken »Reiche Zeche« und »Alte Elisabeth« verbindet die Bergakademie Theorie und Praxis. Hier fahren die Studierenden traditionell selbst ein und wenden Wissen ganz praktisch und interdisziplinär an.

Durch ihre intensiven Kooperationen mit der regionalen und nationalen Industrie sowie Unternehmen weltweit zählt die Bergakademie zu den forschungsstärksten Universitäten in Deutschland. Eng arbeitet die Universität auch mit dem Helmholtz-Institut Freiberg für Ressourcentechnologie zusammen, das zum renommierten Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf gehört. Seit Jahren hat die Hochschule eine Spitzenposition inne, wenn es um die Einwerbung von Drittmitteln geht.

TU Bergakademie Freiberg

zurück zum Seitenanfang