main content

Five universities of applied sciences

Studierende üben Gebärdensprache
Hearing-impaired people repeatedly encounter situations in day-to-day life where they reach their limits when communicating with hearing people. It is the task of sign language interpreters to bridge precisely such barriers. At the University of Applied Sciences of Zwickau (WHZ), students can obtain a diploma in the study programme of Sign Language Interpretation.  © SMWK / Floss

If you are looking for practice-oriented courses, one of the five universities of applied sciences in Saxony is the right place for you. Here students can obtain a university degree in the fields of Engineering, Economics, Media and Social Sciences as well as in the artistic field. Admission requirements are: general higher education entrance qualification (Abitur), advanced technical college entrance qualification, subject-linked higher education entrance qualification, Master’s examination (subject-related) or a qualification recognised by the respective university as equivalent, a first university degree that qualifies for a profession in case of a Master’s study programme and, depending on the study regulations, subject-specific admission requirements.

Founded 150 years ago as a private educational institution for mechanical engineering, the University of Applied Sciences Mittweida today offers a wide spectrum of courses ranging from Engineering, Natural Sciences and Economics to Media and Social Work. As in its early days, the University of Applied Sciences Mittweida is a cosmopolitan university located at the heart of the city. 6,900 students are enrolled in more than 50 study programmes in five faculties. Application-oriented and interdisciplinary study programmes are a trademark of Mittweida. Some courses are available only here, such as »General and Digital Forensics« or the cross-media course in »Media Management«.

The University of Applied Sciences Mittweida also excels in knowledge transfer and research. Areas of excellence of the University of Applied Sciences Mittweida are Laser Research and Digital Forensics. The new building of the Laserinstitut Hochschule Mittweida was completed in 2016. It was the first and one of only three excellent new buildings for research at technical colleges in which the federal government has contributed financially. The IT forensics specialists at the University of Applied Sciences Mittweida have been working with the Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology (SIT) in Darmstadt in the field of research and training since 2017.

The Zentrum für Medien und Soziale Arbeit (Centre for Media and Social Work), which was inaugurated in 2014, is one of the most modern academic training centres in Europe in the media sector. Spread over 5,700 square metres and four floors, it houses lecture halls and seminar rooms, a state-of-the-art television studio, recording studios and the university's own radio station »99drei Radio Mittweida«. It broadcasts not only for the campus, but also 24/7 for the city, making it the only local station in Germany to be operated by students. Many other productions and events make media studies in Mittweida uniquely practical.

As one of the first partner universities for top sports in Germany, the University of Applied Sciences Mittweida offers competitive athletes special study conditions that are adapted to training and competition periods.

University of Applied Sciences Mittweida

The University of Applied Sciences Leipzig (HTWK Leipzig) offers a combination of practically oriented teaching and application-oriented research. Its regional unique selling point is the wide range of engineering programmes. More than 40 courses in Engineering, Economics and Social Sciences, Applied Media and Information Sciences as well as Computer Science and Mathematics facilitate scientifically sound and practice-oriented training.

Long-term and diverse collaborations with companies from the region, Germany and Europe as well as numerous research projects have proven the university’s level of performance. With a third-party funding of more than ten million euros, the HTWK Leipzig is one of the most research-intensive universities of applied sciences (HAW) in Germany. Currently almost 80 young scientists at the university are completing their doctorate in cooperative procedures.

The university was newly established in 1992. The lines of tradition of its predecessor institutions in Leipzig - technical college, building academy, teaching facilities for librarians, book traders and museologists - go back in direct line to the year 1838. The areas of Economics and Social Affairs were added after 1992.

The profile of the HTWK Leipzig includes its teaching and research competences in Construction & Energy, Engineering & Economy, Life Science & Engineering and Media & Information. The university is committed to combining teaching and research.

There are about 6,300 students enrolled at the HTWK Leipzig.

University of Applied Sciences Leipzig

Achieve more in practice is the motto of the University of Applied Sciences Dresden (HTW Dresden). Teaching and research at the HTW Dresden are closely linked to each other and very practice-oriented. Students can participate in research projects from an early stage. They benefit from close contacts with industrial partners and have the opportunity to complete their doctorate within the framework of cooperative doctoral procedures.

Research at the HTW Dresden is primarily based on four profile lines: Mobile Systems and Mechatronics, Sustainable Livelihoods, Information Systems and Business Management and Entrepreneurship. Owing to its application-oriented research, the university is an important partner, especially of medium-sized companies in Saxony, and very well-networked with the numerous technology and research centres in the science hub of Dresden.
HTW Dresden’s Gründungsschmiede (founding forge) supports young university-related start-ups in developing innovative business ideas, and puts them in touch with cooperation partners in business and industry.

In addition to excellent study conditions and first-class training, students in Dresden can expect an environment with a high quality of life, art and culture, great recreational facilities and a wonderful landscape.
The degrees acquired at the HTW Dresden are well recognised by companies and research and educational institutions alike. This is demonstrated not only by current studies and university rankings, but above all by the successful placement of graduates in practice. 

4,700 students study at the HTW.

University of Applied Sciences Dresden

The University of Applied Sciences Zwickau (WHZ) dates back to the Ingenieurschule Zwickau (Zwickau School of Engineering) that was founded in 1897 and that had made a name for itself in the field of automotive engineering. Even today, technology continues to play an important role at the university of applied sciences. Courses at the WHZ are based on the additional pillars of business, languages, health and design. Around 3,300 students are currently enrolled in one of the 50 study programmes in eight faculties. About 300 of them come from abroad. Young people from almost 50 countries choose to study at the WHZ every year. In addition to the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees, the university continues to award diplomas. There are 15 study programmes in which students receive diplomas. These include the fields of Mechanical Engineering, Automotive Engineering and Industrial Engineering.

The technical study programmes are complemented by a creative and inter-cultural range of courses. For example, studying economics is combined with a foreign language, with a choice between French, Spanish/Portuguese or Chinese. Nursing and health management and sign language interpretation expand the range of courses.

In addition to Zwickau, the university also has campuses in the Ore Mountain region of Schneeberg and the Vogtland towns of Reichenbach and Markneukirchen. Students of the study programmes Wood Design, Fashion Design and Textile Art/Textile Design study at the Faculty of Applied Arts in Schneeberg. Aspiring musical instrument makers learn their trade in Markneukirchen and the Reichenbach campus has the Institute for Textile and Leather Technology.

For years, Zwickau students have successfully participated in the international design competition Formula Student, in which they design, build and drive their own racing car.

University of Applied Sciences Zwickau

Studying without borders: there is hardly a better place of study than the cities of Zittau and Görlitz that makes such a motto a reality. The cities are embedded in the border triangle between Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland and offer students many opportunities in practice-oriented training. The university impresses with the intensive support, modern equipment and numerous contacts to regional, national and international companies and institutions that it offers. These are ideal prerequisites for effective education and excellent job prospects. The high placement rate of graduates is proof of this.

The two locations are about 36 kilometres apart. Over 450 employees, including around 120 professors, are responsible for about 2,800 students who are enrolled in more than 40 study programmes in Engineering, Natural Sciences, Economics and Social Sciences in six faculties. Internationality is one of the pillars of the university. It maintains partnerships with a total of 122 universities in 38 countries: from South Africa to the USA, from Mexico, Great Britain to Russia and China.

This also includes the globally unparalleled Neisse University, which is a trinational university network. The English-language Bachelor’s degree course in this network starts in the Czech Republic, moves to Poland in the second year and ends in Germany. An integral part of the course of study is an internship that can be performed in any country in the world. If you want to delve into the diversity of communication and its impacts on individuals and groups, you can study Communication Psychology at the Görlitz campus. This is a Bachelor’s study programme that is unique in Germany. The Social Gerontology study programme is also a rare one. The same holds true for the interdisciplinary study programmes of Housing and Real Estate Management, Ecology and Environmental Protection and Integrated Management Systems.

The unique Master’s study programme in Mechatronics makes it possible to receive two degrees in one course. It leads to a dual degree in cooperation with the Technical University of Liberec. In addition to the diploma, Bachelor’s and Master’s study programmes, the university provides the opportunity of combining a course of study with professional training because it offers cooperative education with integrated training.

University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz

Back to top

Hauptinhalt

Fünf Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften

Studierende üben Gebärdensprache
Hörgeschädigte Menschen treffen im Alltag immer wieder auf Situationen, in denen sie in der Kommunikation mit Hörenden an Grenzen stoßen. Gebärdensprachdolmetscher haben die Aufgabe, genau diese Barrieren zu überbrücken. An der Westsächsischen Hochschule Zwickau können Studierende das Diplom im Studiengang Gebärdensprachdolmetschen erhalten.  © SMWK / Floss

Wer sich ein praxisnahes Studium wünscht, ist bei einer der fünf Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Sachsen richtig. Hier können Studierende einen Hochschulabschluss auf dem Gebiet der Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts-, Medien- und Sozialwissenschaften oder auch auf künstlerischem Gebiet erreichen. Zulassungsbedingungen sind: allgemeine Hochschulreife (Abitur), Fachhochschulreife, fachgebundene Hochschulreife, Meisterprüfung (fachbezogen) oder eine durch die jeweilige Hochschule als gleichwertig anerkannte Vorbildung, bei einem Masterstudiengang ein erster berufsqualifizierender Hochschulabschluss und je nach Studienordnung fachspezifische Zulassungsvoraussetzungen.

Vor 150 Jahren als private technische Lehranstalt für Maschinenbauer gegründet, ist die Hochschule Mittweida heute mit einem Profil von Ingenieur-, Natur- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften bis hin zu Medien und Sozialer Arbeit breit aufgestellt. Wie in den Anfängen ist die Hochschule Mittweida eine weltoffene Hochschule mitten in der Stadt. 6900 Studierende sind in mehr als  50 Studiengängen an fünf Fakultäten eingeschrieben. Typisch für Mittweida sind anwendungsnahe und interdisziplinäre Studiengänge. Manches gibt es so auch nur hier wie »Allgemeine und Digitale Forensik« oder das crossmediale »Medienmanagement«.

Auch in Wissenstransfer und Forschung ist die Hochschule Mittweida stark. Exzellenzbereiche der Hochschule Mittweida sind die Laserforschung und die Digitale Forensik. Im Jahr 2016 wurde der Neubau des »Laserinstitut Hochschule Mittweida« fertiggestellt – als erster und einer von bislang nur drei exzellenten Forschungsneubauten an Fachhochschulen, an denen sich der Bund finanziell beteiligt hat. Die IT-Forensik- Spezialisten der Hochschule Mittweida arbeiten seit 2017 mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie (SIT) in Darmstadt bei Forschung und Weiterbildung zusammen.

Das im Jahr 2014 eröffnete Zentrum für Medien und Soziale Arbeit gehört zu den modernsten akademischen Ausbildungszentren Europas im Medienbereich. Verteilt auf 5700 Quadratmetern und vier Etagen finden sich hier neben Hörsälen und Seminarräumen ein hochmodernes Fernsehstudio, Tonstudios und der hochschuleigene Radiosender »99drei Radio Mittweida«. Der sendet nicht nur für den Campus, sondern rund um die Uhr an sieben Tagen in der Woche für die Stadt und ist damit der einzige von Studierenden betriebene Lokalsender Deutschlands. Viele weitere Produktionen und Events machen das Medienstudium in Mittweida einzigartig praxisnah.

Als eine der ersten Partnerhochschulen des Spitzensports in Deutschland bietet die Hochschule Mittweida Leistungssportlern besondere, an Trainings- und Wettkampfzeiten angepasste, Studienbedingungen.  

Hochschule Mittweida

Die Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig (HTWK Leipzig) vereint praxisorientierte Lehre und anwendungsnahe Forschung. Regionales Alleinstellungsmerkmal ist ihr breites ingenieurwissenschaftlich-technisches Profil. Mehr als 40 Studiengänge der Ingenieurwissenschaften, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, angewandten Medien- und Informationswissenschaften sowie Informatik und Mathematik ermöglichen eine wissenschaftlich fundierte und praxisorientierte Ausbildung.

Langfristige und vielfältige Kooperationen mit Unternehmen aus der Region, Deutschland und Europa sowie zahlreiche eingeworbene Forschungsprojekte belegen die Leistungsstärke der Hochschule. Mit einem Drittmittelaufkommen von mehr als zehn Millionen Euro gehört die HTWK Leipzig zu den forschungsstärksten Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften (HAW) in Deutschland. Knapp 80 Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler der Hochschule promovieren in kooperativen Verfahren.

Die Hochschule wurde 1992 neu gegründet. Die Traditionslinien ihrer Vorgängereinrichtungen in Leipzig – Technische  Hochschule, Bauhochschule, Lehrstätten für Bibliothekare, Buchhändler und Museologen – reichen  in direkter Linie bis in das Jahr 1838 zurück. Nach 1992 wurden die Bereiche Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Sozialwesen neu hinzugefügt.

Die Profillinien der HTWK Leipzig bündeln die Lehr- und Forschungskompetenzen der Hochschule in »Bau & Energie«, »Ingenieur & Wirtschaft«, »Life Science & Engineering« sowie »Medien & Information«. Die Hochschule bekennt sich damit zur Einheit von Lehre und Forschung.

An der HTWK studieren 6000 Studierende.

Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig

»Praktisch mehr erreichen« lautet das Motto der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Dresden. Lehre und Forschung sind an der HTW Dresden eng miteinander verbunden und stark praxisorientiert. Die Studierenden können sich schon früh an Forschungsprojekten beteiligen, sie profitieren von engen Kontakten zu Industriepartnern und haben darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen von kooperativen Promotionsverfahren zu promovieren.

Die Forschung an der HTW Dresden orientiert sich vor allem an den vier Profillinien Mobilsysteme und Mechatronik, Nachhaltige Lebensgrundlagen, Informationssysteme, Unternehmensführung und Gründung. Mit ihrer anwendungsorientieren Forschung ist die Hochschule ein wichtiger Partner insbesondere von mittelständischen Unternehmen in Sachsen und sehr gut vernetzt mit den zahlreichen Technologie- und Forschungszentren des Wissenschaftsstandorts Dresden.
Die Gründungsschmiede der HTW Dresden unterstützt junge Start-ups aus dem Umfeld der Hochschule bei der Entwicklung innovativer Geschäftsideen und vermittelt Kontakte zu Kooperationspartnern in Wirtschaft und Industrie.

Neben hervorragenden Studienbedingungen und einer erstklassigen Ausbildung erwartet die Studierenden in Dresden ein Umfeld mit hoher Lebensqualität, Kunst und Kultur, tollen Freizeitangeboten und einer herrlichen Landschaft.
Die an der HTW Dresden erworbenen Abschlüsse genießen große Anerkennung bei Unternehmen sowie Forschungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen. Das belegen nicht nur aktuelle Studien und Hochschulrankings, sondern vor allem die erfolgreiche Vermittlung der Absolventen in die Praxis. 

An der HTW studieren 4500 Studierende.

Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Dresden

Die Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau (WHZ) geht auf die 1897 gegründete Ingenieurschule Zwickau zurück, die sich um den Bereich Kraftfahrzeugtechnik verdient gemacht hat. Auch heute nimmt die Technik einen großen Stellenwert an der Fachhochschule ein. Die Bereiche Wirtschaft, Sprachen, Gesundheit und Gestaltung sind zusätzliche Säulen, auf denen das Studium an der WHZ fußt. Etwa 4000 Studierende sind derzeit in einem der 50 Studiengänge an acht Fakultäten eingeschrieben. Ungefähr 300 von ihnen kommen aus dem Ausland. Junge Leute aus knapp 50 Ländern entscheiden sich jedes Jahr für ein Studium an der WHZ. Neben den Bachelor- und Masterabschlüssen verleiht die Hochschule weiterhin das Diplom. 15 Studiengänge schließen damit ab. Dazu zählen unter anderen die Fachrichtungen Maschinenbau, Kraftfahrzeugtechnik und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen.

Die technischen Studiengänge werden von einem gestalterischen und interkulturellen Studienangebot ergänzt. Das Studium der Wirtschaft wird zum Beispiel mit einer Fremdsprache kombiniert, wobei Französisch, Spanisch/Portugiesisch oder Chinesisch zur Auswahl stehen. Pflege- und Gesundheitsmanagement und Gebärdensprachdolmetschen erweitern das Spektrum.

Neben Zwickau betreibt die Hochschule Standorte im erzgebirgischen Schneeberg und in den vogtländischen Städten Reichenbach und Markneukirchen. Studenten der Studiengänge Holzgestaltung, Modedesign und Textilkunst/Textildesign studieren an der Fakultät Angewandte Kunst in Schneeberg. Angehende Musikinstrumentenbauer erlernen ihr Handwerk in Markneukirchen und im Reichenbacher Hochschulteil sitzt das Institut für Textil- und Ledertechnik, das voraussichtlich im Jahr 2020 nach Zwickau umziehen wird.

Seit Jahren nehmen Zwickauer Studenten erfolgreich am internationalen Konstruktionswettbewerb »Formula Student« teil. Dabei planen, bauen und fahren sie ein eigenes Rennauto.

Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau

»Studieren ohne Grenzen«: Es gibt kaum bessere Studienorte, um ein solches Motto Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen als die Städte Zittau und Görlitz. Geprägt durch die Einbettung ins Dreiländereck Deutschland, Tschechien und Polen erwartet die Studierenden eine praxisnahe Ausbildung. Die Hochschule überzeugt durch intensive Betreuung, moderne Ausstattung und zahlreiche Kontakte zu regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen und Einrichtungen. Das sind optimale Voraussetzungen für ein effektives Studium und sehr gute Berufsaussichten. Die hohe Vermittlungsquote der Absolventinnen und Absolventen ist ein Beweis dafür.

Die beiden Standorte sind etwa 36 Kilometer voneinander entfernt. Über 450 Beschäftigte, davon etwa 120 Professorinnen und Professoren, kümmern sich um die rund 2900 Studierenden, die in den mehr als 40 Studiengängen der Ingenieur-, Natur-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften an sechs Fakultäten eingeschrieben sind. Internationalität ist eine Säule der Hochschule. Sie unterhält zu insgesamt 122 Hochschulen in 38 Ländern Partnerschaften: von Südafrika bis in die USA, von Mexiko über Großbritannien bis nach Russland und China.

Dazu gehört auch das weltweit einzigartige trinationale Hochschulnetzwerk »Neisse University«. Das englisch-sprachige Bachelorstudium in diesem Netzwerk beginnt in der Tschechischen Republik, findet im zweiten Jahr in Polen statt und endet in Deutschland. Integraler Teil des Studiums ist ein Praktikum, das in jedem Land der Welt durchgeführt werden kann. Wer sich mit der Vielfalt der Kommunikation und deren Auswirkungen auf Individuen und Gruppen befassen möchte, kann am Standort Görlitz Kommunikationspsychologie studieren – ein in Deutschland einzigartiger Bachelorstudiengang. Auch der Studiengang Soziale Gerontologie ist selten. Gleiches gilt für die interdisziplinären Studiengänge Wohnungs- und Immobilienwirtschaft, Ökologie und Umweltschutz sowie Integrative Managementsysteme.

Zwei Abschlüsse mit einem Studium – das ist mit dem einzigartigen Masterstudiengang Mechatronik möglich. Er schließt mit einem Doppelabschluss gemeinsam mit der Technischen Universität in Liberec ab. Neben den Diplom-, Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen bietet die Hochschule mit dem Kooperativen Studium mit integrierter Ausbildung die Möglichkeit, ein Studium mit einer Berufsausbildung zu verknüpfen.  

Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz

zurück zum Seitenanfang