main content

All about studying in Saxony

Studierende im Halbreis sitzend
Students of the University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz.  © Stephan Floss

Good reasons for studying in Saxony...

1. Wide range of subjects: four universities, five universities of fine arts, five universities of applied sciences and the special academies of the Berufsakademie Sachsen together offer a huge spectrum of almost 500 study options from African Studies to Dentistry. Many study programmes are rare or even unique in Germany.

 2. Modern equipment: the universities in Saxony are perfect for anyone who wishes to study in an environment with excellent study conditions, intensive support and state-of-the-art equipment. University buildings such as the Paulinum in Leipzig or the mathematical and scientific institutes of the TU Dresden allow a combination of tradition and the most advanced architecture. Mittweida is one of the most modern training centres for media in Europe.

 3. Affordable education: first degree studies are free of charge for Saxony’s students in any educational institution, and the cost of living is also fairly low. The cost of living calculator of the “Unicum.de” platform sums up the monthly costs of a student (rent, food, clothing, transportation, insurance, telephone, learning aids, etc.) in the university cities of all 16 federal states. The verdict: with a monthly cost of 665.72 euros, students in Freiberg enjoy the lowest cost of living in Germany!

 4. Great cultural treats & exemplary student scene:  there's no Saxony without art and culture; they have always shaped the state’s history. More than 400 museums throughout the Free State, including the legendary Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden with the Green Vault, are testimony to this. Theatres and opera houses such as the Semperoper Dresden or the Leipzig Gewandhaus render Saxony’s cultural landscape unique. The site of the Leipzig Cotton Mill ("Baumwollspinnerei"), on the other hand, is a space for contemporary art. And the reputation of its legendary subculture runs way ahead of the Saxon student cities. Be it the Moritzbastei in Leipzig, the Bärenzwinger in Dresden or the Erdalchimistenclub in Freiberg - generations of students have celebrated their academic successes with a drink in these places.

5. Perfect location: located in the extreme east of Germany, the Free State enjoys the advantage of having two neighbouring European countries, Poland and the Czech Republic. A weekend of dancing in the capital, going for a stroll in Prague or an art visit to Wroclaw? Going on a trip to the big cities is no big deal for students in Saxony.

6. Diverse community: seven percent of students have study limitations - they have a disability, chronic illness or a specific learning disability such as dyslexia. Given that there are more than 107,000 students in Saxony, this makes it approximately 7,000 handicapped students. Even if the impairments are different, every Saxon university and the four Studentenwerk centres offer the same free advice services for everyone. All contact persons are listed on www.pack-dein-studium.. Saxon universities are not only places of human diversity, but also of cultural diversity and cosmopolitanism! There are around 17,000 foreign students studying and almost 2,000 foreign teachers working here.

7. International research: the extramural research scene is quite rich in Saxony. With its 14 institutes and facilities, the Fraunhofer Society is the most frequently represented organisation. The Leibniz Association comes a close second with its eight institutes and two branch offices. In addition, six institutes of the Max Planck Society, two Helmholtz centres, two Helmholtz institutes, eight state-funded research institutions and the University of the United Nations, UNU Flores in Dresden, are driving science forward. A total of around 50 extramural research institutions in Saxony work on a wide range of topics, such as microelectronics and nanoelectronics, materials science, production technologies, energy, environmental sciences, biotechnology, natural sciences, medicine and many more.

 8. Reliable qualifications: the wide range of study options offers a very special bonus: the diploma! Many of the Saxon universities continue to offer or have resumed offering the tried and tested diploma study programmes that are well recognised abroad.

9. Best future: Saxon university graduates have brilliant job prospects, not only in regional companies. Germany’s high-tech location boasts of well-known corporate groups and numerous research networks. Saxony offers ideal career opportunities for young scientists!

10. Nature & family: mountains, lakes and forests - the landscape of Saxony is perfect for connoisseurs, athletes and anyone who is looking for respite amidst nature while studying. For climbers and adventure athletes, the Ore Mountains and the Elbe Sandstone Mountains are on the doorstep of almost every university location just as the Leipzig basin and the Upper and Lower Lusatia that attract cyclists and hikers. Support services for students with children, flexible study times and breaks for taking care of relatives - all of this is naturally integrated into the course of study at Saxon universities. Many institutions are certified as a family-friendly university and offer their students a comprehensive service for carefree study with family.

 To read more about the Free State of Saxony and about the state and its people, visit: www.so-geht-saechsisch.de

Back to top

Hauptinhalt

Rund ums Studium

Studierende im Halbreis sitzend
Studierende an der Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz.  © Stephan Floss

Gute Gründe für ein Studium in Sachsen...

1. Breites Fächerangebot: Vier Universitäten, fünf Kunsthochschulen, fünf Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften und das besondere Angebot der Berufsakademie Sachsen bieten zusammengenommen ein riesiges Spektrum an fast 500 Studienmöglichkeiten von A wie Afrikastudien bis Z wie Zahnmedizin. Viele Studiengänge sind selten oder sogar einmalig in Deutschland.

 2. Moderne Ausstattung: Für alle, die exzellente Studienbedingungen, intensive Betreuung und hochmoderne Ausstattung für ihr Studium wünschen, sind die Hochschulen in Sachsen perfekt. Hochschulgebäude wie das Leipziger Paulinum oder die mathematisch- und naturwissenschaftlichen Institute der TU Dresden lassen Tradition auf fortschrittlichste Architektur treffen. Eines der modernsten Ausbildungszentren für Medien in Europa steht in Mittweida.

 3. Günstiges Studium: Das Erststudium ist für Sachsens Studierende überall kostenfrei, und das Leben drum herum auch ziemlich günstig. Der Lebenskostenrechner der Plattform »Unicum.de« summiert die monatlichen Kosten für ein Studentenleben (Miete, Ernährung, Kleidung, Verkehrsmittel, Versicherung, Telefon, Lernmittel, etc.) in den Hochschulstädten aller 16 Bundesländer und kommt zu dem Ergebnis: In Freiberg leben Studenten mit 665,72 Euro deutschlandweit am günstigsten!

 4. Kulturelle Hochgenüsse & kultige Studentenszene:  Ohne Kunst und Kultur kein Sachsen, sie prägen seit jeher die Landesgeschichte. Über 400 Museen im ganzen Freistaat, darunter die legendären Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden mit dem Grünen Gewölbe, erzählen davon. Theater und Opernhäuser wie die Semperoper Dresden oder das Leipziger Gewandhaus machen Sachsens Kulturlandschaft so einzigartig. Ganz frische Kunst serviert dagegen die Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. Und der Ruf ihrer legendären Subkultur eilt den sächsischen Studentenstädten weit voraus. Ob in der Leipziger Moritzbastei, im Dresdner Bärenzwinger oder im Freiberger Erdalchimistenclub – Generationen von Studenten haben hier schon die Erfolge ihres Studiums begossen.

5. Perfekte Lage: Im äußersten Osten Deutschlands gelegen, genießt der Freistaat den Vorteil, mit Polen und der Tschechischen Republik gleich zwei europäische Nachbarländer zu haben. Mal eben für ein durchtanztes Wochenende in die Hauptstadt, zum Flanieren nach Prag oder für den Kunstbesuch nach Breslau? Für sächsische Studierende ist der Ausflug in die Metropolen keine große Sache.

6. Bunte Gemeinschaft: Sieben Prozent der Studierenden können nicht uneingeschränkt studieren – sie haben eine Behinderung, chronische Krankheit oder Teilleistungsstörung wie z.B. Legasthenie. Das sind bei über 109 000 Studierenden in Sachsen ca. 7000 mit Handicap. Auch wenn die Beeinträchtigungen verschieden sind, für alle gleich ist das kostenlose Beratungsangebot an jeder sächsischen Hochschule und bei den vier Studentenwerken. Auf www.pack-dein-studium. de sind alle Ansprechpartner aufgelistet. Die sächsischen Hochschulen sind nicht nur Orte der menschlichen, sondern auch der kulturellen Vielfalt und Weltoffenheit! Hier studieren etwa 17 000 Ausländer und arbeiten fast 2000 Lehrkräfte aus dem Ausland.

7. Internationale Forschung: Das außeruniversitäre Forschungsfeld ist in Sachsen dicht bestellt. Mit ihren 14 Instituten und Einrichtungen ist die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft am häufigsten vertreten, dicht gefolgt von acht Instituten und zwei Außenstellen der Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz. Außerdem treiben sechs Institute der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, zwei Helmholtz-Zentren, zwei Helmholtz-Institute, sieben landesfinanzierte Forschungseinrichtungen und die in Dresden ansässige Universität der Vereinten Nationen UNU Flores die Wissenschaft voran. Insgesamt etwa 50 außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen arbeiten in Sachsen in einer großen thematischen Bandbreite, wie z.B. in Mikro- und Nanoelektronik, Materialwissenschaften, Produktionstechnologien, Energie, Umweltwissenschaften, Biotechnologie, Naturwissenschaften, Medizin und vielen anderen mehr.

 8. Bewährte Abschlüsse: Einen ganz besonderen Bonus bietet das breite Spektrum an Studienmöglichkeiten: den Diplom-Abschluss! Viele der sächsischen Hochschulen haben weiterhin bzw. wieder die bewährten und im Ausland sehr gern gesehenen Diplomstudiengänge im Angebot.

9. Beste Zukunft: Für sächsische Hochschulabsolventen sind die Berufsaussichten glänzend, nicht nur bei regionalen Unternehmen. Deutschlands Hightech-Standort trumpft mit namhaften Konzernen und mit zahlreichen Forschungsnetzwerken auf. Die Karrierechancen für junge Wissenschaftler sind optimal!

10. Natur & Familie: Berge, Seen und Wälder – für Genießer, Sportler und alle, die neben dem Studium einen Ausgleich in der Natur suchen, ist die Landschaft Sachsens wie geschaffen. Das Erz- und das Elbsandsteingebirge liegen für Kletter- und Erlebnissportler quasi an beinahe jedem Hochschulstandort vor der Haustür, genauso wie die Radler und Wanderer einladende Leipziger Tieflandsbucht sowie die Ober- und die Niederlausitz. Betreuungsangebote für den Nachwuchs, flexible Studienzeiten und Unterbrechung für die Pflege von Angehörigen – alles das gehört an sächsischen Hochschulen wie selbstverständlich zum Studium. Viele Einrichtungen sind als familienfreundliche Hochschule zertifiziert und bieten ihren Studierenden umfassenden Service für ein sorgenfreies Studium in Familie.

 Mehr über den Freistaat Sachsen, über Land & Leute unter: www.so-geht-saechsisch.de

 

zurück zum Seitenanfang