main content

Seven universities of cooperative education (Berufsakademie Sachsen)

Blick auf die Gebäude der BA Breitenbrunn
View of the building of the Breitenbrunn University of Cooperative Education.  © SMWK/Floss

In addition to the universities, the Free State of Saxony offers a special range of courses at the seven academies of the Berufsakademie Sachsen (University of Cooperative Education). They are aimed primarily at high school graduates, who are focussed on getting opportunities for practice-oriented training as soon as possible. But even those who have successfully passed a Master’s examination, or applicants who have completed professional training and have passed an entrance examination can start studying at the BA Sachsen.

The Berufsakademie Sachsen, comprising seven universities of cooperative education in Bautzen, Breitenbrunn, Dresden, Glauchau, Leipzig as well as Plauen and Riesa, offers a three-year dual course in Economics, Technology as well as Social Welfare and Healthcare in over 40 study programmes.

4,400 students are groomed for a job in the universities of cooperative education as well as with the respective practice partners.

After successfully completing a three-year course, the Free State of Saxony awards them with a recognised “Bachelor’s” degree or a “Diploma”. Both qualifications are equivalent, as a professional qualification, to the corresponding qualifications from state-run technical colleges. In addition, the Bachelor’s degree is at par with that of the universities. After receiving the Bachelor’s degree, graduates can register for a Master’s degree programme at a university, provided that the relevant admission requirements are met.

Berufsakademie Sachsen

Press release (only in German): Wissenschaftsminister Gemkow: Berufsakademie Sachsen reagiert mit ihren Angeboten flexibel auf die Bedarfe der Wirtschaft und bleibt so für junge Menschen wie Unternehmen attraktiv

More press releases on the subjects of Berufsakademie and university (only in German)

Back to top